Author Topic: Call me old fashioned...  (Read 8408 times)

Offline Terry K. Amthor

• Shadow World Dev
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • Great Book
    • Eidolon Studio
Call me old fashioned...
« on: February 19, 2015, 11:33:10 AM »
Wow, love to see how active this board is; it's my first time here. I still use RM2, and frankly, do not like RMSS; I think RM2 could use a few tweaks (not all those crazy Companions, thank you!) but some profession additions and adjustments. And I even like the HARP lesser spells.

Just MHO,

Terry
Terry K. Amthor
Shadow World Author, Rolemaster & SpaceMaster Co-Designer, ICE co-founder.
Eidolon Studio Art Director

"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic."
-- Clarke's First Law.

Offline intothatdarkness

• Navigator
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Call me old fashioned...
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2015, 12:27:24 PM »
I never cared for RMSS, either, honestly. I modified the mess out of RM2, but that was more setting-specific and integrating things from the Companions in a (for us) sensible way. RMSS...well...no.
Darn that salt pork!

Offline Spectre771

• Revered Elder
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2015, 01:25:06 PM »
You're old fashioned.  :)

I still love RM2.  Not RMC.  Just plain old RM2.  My kids are all hooked on it now, my now ex-wife, and just a few months ago, three, possibly four new players really into it.

RMSS had some great ideas and refinements that I really liked, but too much of a departure from what I loved but not enough to get me to re-invest all that time and money into a "similar" game system.  (I have all of the RM Companions.  I'm an addict. What can I say?)  It wasn't like going from RM2 to White Wolf or D20.  It was still RM, just different.

I have an open mind and anticipation for RMU, but still not sure it will be enough to get me to leap from RM2.