Author Topic: Need some spellcasting advice  (Read 2007 times)

Offline Kornetto

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Need some spellcasting advice
« on: March 11, 2017, 02:50:44 PM »
Hi all. I'm brand new to rolemaster but, our dm has been playing for many years but could never find a group to invest in giving the system a go. Enter our little group (3 perm members, 2 who rock up whenever they can). We were a bit hesitant, at first. We've all. Been playing, exclusively, d20 systems. But, and owing a great deal to our dm's experience and play style, we are pretty hoooked. Upon seeing this, dm has decided to throw caution to the wind and start building us up for a massively powered campaign. Starting with my humble magician who has now undergone a transformation and is now an arcist. I've been given 8 free empty spell lists, which I have decided to assign as follows:

Buff
Debuff
Healing
Battlefield control
Offence
Defense
Social
Summons

He has also given me 1-4 level spells on four of these lists, plus my previous 6 essence lists (he's not messing around). I would ask if anyone could give advice of spells from any lists that would fall I to the first four lists posted.

Thanks in advance

Offline Hurin

• Loremaster
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Need some spellcasting advice
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2017, 10:08:20 PM »
Do you know which version of RM you are playing? I am familiar with RM2 (the one with the red bands on the left of the cover and awesome art by Angus McBride).

For offense, the elemental bolt and ball spells are what you are probably looking for. Lightning Bolt tends to be the most damaging single-target spell.

For control, Sleep and Charm spells are very good.

For defense, Shield and Aura (which stack) are great general purpose spells. They raise your Defensive Bonus. Bladeturn (for melee attacks) and Deflections (for ranged attacks) are very good as well, as they reduce the Offense Bonus of attacks against you.