Real Roleplaying

Author Topic: HARP SF Rules on Sureshot Talent and Rifle with Weapon Scope  (Read 304 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline joel.lovell

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • OIC Points 0/0
  • Author
    • Machinimagine
    • Awards
HARP SF Rules on Sureshot Talent and Rifle with Weapon Scope
« on: September 21, 2016, 06:02:43 PM »
Let's say you are at a range increment where the penalty is -40. Does SureShot Talent reduce that by 1/2 first, then the Scope reduces the remainder by 20, or does the Scope reduce by 20 first, then the SureShot Talent apply?


Offline joel.lovell

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • OIC Points 0/0
  • Author
    • Machinimagine
    • Awards
Re: HARP SF Rules on Sureshot Talent and Rifle with Weapon Scope
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2016, 06:23:09 PM »
Also - if a character is wearing Light Battle Armor, for example, with a DB of 60, but is not wearing a helmet and one does the called shot adjustment +/-1 per -10 to OB; what happens to the DB if the result is a hit (to the head)? Do you add the 60 back for damage purposes?

Offline joel.lovell

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • OIC Points 0/0
  • Author
    • Machinimagine
    • Awards
Re: HARP SF Rules on Sureshot Talent and Rifle with Weapon Scope
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2016, 06:26:50 PM »
And...

If you have a character with Sniping, i.e. 21 ranks. They succeed in their roll, they get +21 to total OB result for purposes of damage only - and also get to ignore damage cap of the attack.

If that character also had the Bane Talent, and let's say, chose Humans - then that particular attack would be +41 damage correct?

Can Bane be bought multiple times? (for different races)

Offline NicholasHMCaldwell

  • Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,875
  • OIC Points 0/0
  • Director of Iron Crown Enterprises Ltd.
    • Awards
Re: HARP SF Rules on Sureshot Talent and Rifle with Weapon Scope
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2016, 03:20:31 PM »
Let's say you are at a range increment where the penalty is -40. Does SureShot Talent reduce that by 1/2 first, then the Scope reduces the remainder by 20, or does the Scope reduce by 20 first, then the SureShot Talent apply?



Scope first, then SureShot.

Best wishes,
Nicholas
Dr Nicholas HM Caldwell
Director, Iron Crown Enterprises Ltd
Publisher of Rolemaster, Spacemaster, Shadow World, Cyradon, HARP & HARP SF, and Cyberspace, with products available from www.rpgnow.com
Author: Mentalism Companion, GURPS Age of Napoleon, Construct Companion, College of Magics, HARP SF/HARP SF Xtreme

Offline NicholasHMCaldwell

  • Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,875
  • OIC Points 0/0
  • Director of Iron Crown Enterprises Ltd.
    • Awards
Re: HARP SF Rules on Sureshot Talent and Rifle with Weapon Scope
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2016, 03:30:08 PM »
Also - if a character is wearing Light Battle Armor, for example, with a DB of 60, but is not wearing a helmet and one does the called shot adjustment +/-1 per -10 to OB; what happens to the DB if the result is a hit (to the head)? Do you add the 60 back for damage purposes?

No. You adjust the description of the resulting critical to be more suited to the head or persuade someone to write location-specific criticals.

If the armor DB was taken away on a called shot, I think we would have a system issue, as there would be cases where called shot penalty could overwhelm a larger DB.

Best wishes,
Nicholas
Dr Nicholas HM Caldwell
Director, Iron Crown Enterprises Ltd
Publisher of Rolemaster, Spacemaster, Shadow World, Cyradon, HARP & HARP SF, and Cyberspace, with products available from www.rpgnow.com
Author: Mentalism Companion, GURPS Age of Napoleon, Construct Companion, College of Magics, HARP SF/HARP SF Xtreme

Offline NicholasHMCaldwell

  • Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,875
  • OIC Points 0/0
  • Director of Iron Crown Enterprises Ltd.
    • Awards
Re: HARP SF Rules on Sureshot Talent and Rifle with Weapon Scope
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2016, 03:30:33 PM »
And...

If you have a character with Sniping, i.e. 21 ranks. They succeed in their roll, they get +21 to total OB result for purposes of damage only - and also get to ignore damage cap of the attack.

If that character also had the Bane Talent, and let's say, chose Humans - then that particular attack would be +41 damage correct?

Can Bane be bought multiple times? (for different races)

Yes to both.

Best wishes,
Nicholas
Dr Nicholas HM Caldwell
Director, Iron Crown Enterprises Ltd
Publisher of Rolemaster, Spacemaster, Shadow World, Cyradon, HARP & HARP SF, and Cyberspace, with products available from www.rpgnow.com
Author: Mentalism Companion, GURPS Age of Napoleon, Construct Companion, College of Magics, HARP SF/HARP SF Xtreme

 

Cloudlords of Tanara