Author Topic: New player question: invincible rats!  (Read 9714 times)

Offline ciderman9000000

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
New player question: invincible rats!
« on: July 04, 2016, 02:26:27 PM »
Hi, I'm new to RM and indeed the whole RPG genre, I'm trying to prepare to GM a game along with 3/4 other complete noobs and need a little help with combat rules!

Having read and mostly understood the RM2 red-spine boxset rules I decided to have a little practice session with myself and my girlfriend, make a couple of characters and run through some basic combat, just see how well I had the rules figured out, nothing fancy.

So we made a Fighter and a Wizard, all good, that went smoothly enough I think:

Fighter lvl1 — DB19, OB33, wielding a broad sword
Wizard lvl1 — DB0, OB16, wielding a mace

Next I drew a little dungeon room on some blank paper, handed both PC's to my girlfriend to control and took on the role of GM myself, spawning 10 ordinary rats as detailed in Creatures & Treasures with which to test out the combat mechanics.

That's when the problems started.

According to C&T rats are AT1 DB30/OB20Tbi (that's from memory, I've not the book in front of me here). If 6 rats attack as a group they have OB20Sbi. The issue we had was that these rats proved really difficult to land even the slightest hit on with either the broadsword or mace on the AT1 column, like an 83 roll or something  was the minimum for either weapon IIRC — this meant that the Fighter would only land 1/5 blows and the Wizard 1/20! Does this sound right? Surely killing rats ought to be easier than this!

Looking through the weapon hit charts it seems that this pattern followed across most if not all of the available weapons. The whip would have been somewhat more effective against rats, but our PC's didn't have one. So how does one kill rats then if not with ordinary weapon attacks?