Author Topic: Is it possible for a Navrothor to wield 2H weapons in one hand?  (Read 1368 times)

Offline Bruce

• Senior Adept
  • OIC Points +553/-553
I have a player wanting to play a Navrothor from the Folkways book. He has stated the character will  be short at 8' tall (yeah that is short for the race) but that he wants to be able to wield dual 2 handed weapons (one in each hand).

Is this possible without penalties?

If not what might those penalties be?

I thought I remembered reading about this somewhere in the Folkways book but I've been unable to find it.
When you game, game like you mean it! Game Hard!

Offline Samzagas

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Is it possible for a Navrothor to wield 2H weapons in one hand?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2018, 07:17:44 PM »
I'm by no means an expert, but this is what I think:
It would be a balance issue to allow a character to use a two-handed weapon in one hand because it is effectively giving the character the Critical Modifier bonus without the inherent penalty of having both hands busy.
What I recommend is to make him use a one-handed weapon and pretend it's a two-handed one. For example, he could use a Two-handed Sword that costs, weighs and does Medium Critical like a Long Sword.

Now that I think about it, an easier way to work it is to make him use a Critical Modifier of a lower size whenever he is using the weapon in one hand.

Offline Zhaleskra

• Wise Elder
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2018, 09:06:21 AM »