Author Topic: New monster  (Read 4143 times)

Offline Chris Seal

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +200/-200
New monster
« on: July 29, 2007, 11:33:32 PM »
Hi there,

I am planning on using this critter as an encounter for 1st - 2nd level characters. It is intended to be a mini-boss encounter. I'm pretty new to the system so was wondering if some of the old hands could run a weather eye over it and let me know if I have missed something important.

Night Terror.

The night terror is a small hairy fae with overly long arms. It is a member of the Unseelie court. Night terrors are very stealthy and wait until their prey is sleeping before they attack. They attack by sitting on the chest of the sleeping victim and breathing in the exhaled breath, taking a portion of their victim's life energy with every breath. If their victim awakens they attack with sharp claws before disappearing into the darkness. Night terrors are generally quite cowardly and will flee unless they are facing incapacitated foes.

Level: 4
Hits: 97
Size: Small
Movement: 5'
Initiative: +19
Defensive Bonus: +36 (20 Tough Hide (Minor); 16 Stats)
Resistance Rolls: Stamina +39; Will +30; Magic +44
Attack: Claws +83 Tiny Slash
Special Abilities: Dark Vision (Greater); Tough Hide (Minor); Steal Breath*; Vulnerability (Silver)
Stats: St: 75 (5); Co: 75 (7); Ag: 75 (8 ); Qu: 75 (8 ); SD: 75 (5); Re: 75 (5); In: 75 (6); Pr: 75 (5); PP 10
Treasure: N2NP
Important Skills: Perception (10) 62; Ambush (10) 63; Stalk & Hide (15) 73

Steal Breath: On a successful Ambush against a sleeping the Night Terror succeeds in stealing a portion of it's victim's life force without waking him/her. The victim loses 2d10 Constitution and is fatigued the following day due to lack of restful sleep. The Night Terror can use this ability once per victim per night. An unsuccessful Ambush attempt awakens the victim.

Offline black flag

• Seeker of Wisdom
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: New monster
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2007, 09:54:53 AM »