Author Topic: Creating the New  (Read 2395 times)

Offline aarondesk

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Creating the New
« on: March 17, 2008, 07:13:30 PM »
HARP newbie here... I've just finished the section on character creation. HARP looks like a really neat slick system. Can't wait to try it (need to find some players...).

Anyways, I certainly see that HARP is a flexible system that allows all sort of characters, rather than cookie-cutter types. I can see where eventually someone might want to move beyond the base book to new professions, races, spells, etc. I'll have to pick up some of the books with some of these additions.

I'm starting to ramble, but are there any guidelines anywhere for designing new races, professions, or spells? I don't think designing new skills or talents would be too complicated to create, but these other may be a little more difficult.

Thanks,
Aaron

Offline Thos

• Seeker of Wisdom
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Creating the New
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2008, 08:28:38 PM »
For creating new spells, College of Magics has very excellent rules! Designing new races is pretty easy when you take into account the general amount of racial bonuses and talents are all in fairly equal numbers. Try observing the already existing races as templates to help so you don't create anything that will unbalance your game. :) As far as new professions are concerned, I would always consider creating a training package before introducing a new profession. The Bazaar Annual and The Codex have some excellent additional professions, BTW! If you really feel that a new profession is needed, again take a good look at the already existing ones to help you keep game balance. I hope that helps! All the best!
My wizards are many, but their essence is mine. Forever they are in the hills in their stone homes of grief. Because I am the spirit of their existence. I am them.

Offline aarondesk

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2008, 11:54:32 PM »