Author Topic: ERA - Thoughts from a new user  (Read 1924 times)

Offline Sirius24

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
ERA - Thoughts from a new user
« on: February 07, 2016, 11:06:56 PM »
Greetings,

First of all I want to stay thank you for a great piece of software. I've read through most of the threads here, tried out the free version and a day later decided to simplify my XML-writing life by buying the RMFRP electronic books for ERA.

This type of client-server setup for a roleplaying game assistant software, that can be used on phones, is a step in a great direction for tabletop roleplaying. It helps concentrate on the game, and (especially with rolemaster) is invaluable if you don't want to spend half your gaming time looking up rules and/or tables!

With that said, here are my thoughts and comments so far:

1. The customizability is awesome. I am a software developer so I know my way around XML and configs. Our campaign is a customized Eberron setting ported to RM. Therefore all our races and cultures are custom, and I can easily add them and add their racial talents into the talents list, even. I've added a couple so far, as well as professions from an unavailable sourcebook, and simply copying from the template xml I've been able to do mostly everything.

2. I am a bit sad not to be able to add custom skill categories because they are not defined in the professions, which I can't edit because I've bought the package. I have a lot of custom content to enter and reentering all the professions which I already have feels a bit pointless, and like paying for a package has lowered the level of customizability. I will be using the workaround of adding them to another category and editing costs, but since that has to be done on 10+ skills on every character created, it's a bit of a chore.