Author Topic: Conversion MERP to HARP  (Read 7717 times)

Offline Falenthal

• Initiate
  • OIC Points +0/-0
    • La Compañía
Conversion MERP to HARP
« on: October 17, 2012, 02:30:13 PM »
I'm new to HARP, as my experience has been mostly in MERP and RM for some years. I found HARP a perfect balance between playability and realism and intend to continue my Middle-Earth campaigns with this system.
And here's my concern: How adaptable is the material I've got for MERP to the HARP rules?

From what I've seen, there should be no problem with skill tests (locks difficulties, perception tests, etc).
I also don't fear the magic conversion, as I don't use lots of magic in my Middle-Earth adventures. I'll just make available to the NPCs or PCs the scaled spells more similar to their former spell lists.

Buy I'm having problems figuring how to adapt de OB, DB and Hit Points, specially from the NPC charts included in the MERP modules.
The question is: is there a way to "transform" the OB, DB and Hits from the MERP NPCs to HARP?
I've seen that by doubling the OB and Hits, and adding the DB bonus for the armour wearing to the normal DB, a MERP NPC ressembles a HARP NPC. Is that correct? Would it work for all levels or only for the firsts ones?

And, by the way, is there any Middle Earth adaptation for the HARP rules? Races, magic limitations, Corruption/Shadow rules,...
I'm doing my own, buy I still lack the experience in HARP and would like to see others. If anyone is interested in mine, I can post the GoogleDocs link... only it's in spanish! If someones interested, maybe I can translate it to english.

Thanks and greetings from Spain!

Offline Urbaman

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • The Big Urbaman
    • [Top-notch Сasual Dating  Verified Women]
Re: Conversion MERP to HARP
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012, 02:51:37 PM »
Hi,

I'm also working on it by myself.