Author Topic: ERA for Rolemaster - Creating characters and managing adventures  (Read 88626 times)

Offline Voriig Kye

• Wise Elder
  • OIC Points +0/-0
ERA for Rolemaster - Creating characters and managing adventures
« on: February 23, 2014, 08:31:23 PM »
ERA is an application I've been developing for the last 9 years to use with my roleplaying group. It started as a way of having an electronic version of a character, to be leveled up and then printed whenever the player needed. Then over the years I started adding some features, mainly to speed up the GM's task of looking up tables in the pile of books. The unexpected surprise was that, apart from helping the GM and the players, it also helped in introducing new players, since the system would take care of all the rules and formulas involved. Last year, I decided to add the possibility for players to access the application with a smartphone / tablet, to check their character status, skills and spell descriptions, allowing even more paperwork to be done automatically. Every new feature lets the group focus more on having fun and less on flipping pages and making calculations.

So then, why not share it? Half or more of the system rests on the tables obtained from the books, and that's ICE property. Just like Merkir's Minion has tables for combat, ERA has tables for skills, spells, races, professions, and a lot more. But, after talking it over with the powers that be, we agreed to create some tutorial videos so that you can see how it works, and let us know what you think about it.

Character creation (9 min): http://youtu.be/tr1FpH7sN2A
Character sheet (6 min): http://youtu.be/_M5bfyGyqXs
Adventure (10 min) http://youtu.be/vW0wGjz5kfA

To sum up, you can:
- Create characters step by step, then level them up and keep them updated
- Manage adventures: handle combat, all skill resolution, spell casting, resistances, resting, and more, all using the characters in the system, or add custom NPCs on the fly.